Zim bids for UN Security Council seat

Review and Mail Writer

Zimbabwe is bidding to be a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council in 2027, the Permanent
Secretary in the Ministry of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services, Nick Mangwana has revealed.

Writing on his twitter handle Thursday, Mangwana called on Zimbabweans to support the bid.

“It’s part of the Engagement and Re-engagement Policy. We will also host members of the Commonwealth Secretariat in the next few days. We call upon our nationals to support National Interest
pursuits,” he tweeted.

The UN Security Council is composed of 15 members, five permanent members: China, France, Russian
Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States, and ten non-permanent members elected for
two-year terms by the General Assembly.

These are Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway and the United Arab

More than 50 United Nations Member States have never been Members of the Security Council. A State which is a Member of the United Nations but not of the Security Council may participate, without a vote, in its discussions when the Council considers that country’s interests are affected.

Both Members and non-members of the United Nations, if they are parties to a dispute being considered by the Council, may be invited to take part, without a vote, in the Council’s discussions; the Council sets the conditions for participation by a non-member State.

Leave a Reply