Pakistan Shaheens beat Zimbabwe Select in fifth one-day to stay alive in series

In order to maintain momentum in the six-match series, Pakistan Shaheens defeated Zimbabwe Select by 177 runs in the fifth one-day encounter in Harare.

With one game left, Zimbabwe still have a 3-2 series advantage.

With Zimbabwe Select chasing a target of 315 runs, Pakistan Shaheens drew first blood as Shahnawaz Dahani got rid of opening batter, Innocent Kaia (7) in the fourth over of the second innings.

Zimbabwe never had control of the chase as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Dahani picked up his second wicket in his fourth over as he dismissed Wessly Madhevere for 15.

Aamer Jamal struck in the next over to also remove the skipper Sean Williams for 15.

After being benched in the last two games, Mehran Mumtaz was in full flow as he picked up the wickets of Sikandar Raza (9) and Tadiwanashe Marumani (19) in a single over.

Milton Shumba didn’t survive for long either as he was trapped lbw by Mohammad Ali for 14.

Qasim Akram was handed the ball in the 26th over and he bowled a wicket maiden, dismissing Brandon Mavuta for 3.

Akram stuck again in his third over as Luke Jongwe was caught by Hussain Talat for 3.

Clive Madande kept fighting at one end for Zimbabwe but his unbeaten 41-run knock wasn’t enough to ensure victory for the hosts, as they were bowled out for 137 runs.

Dahani and Qasim Akram picked up three wickets each, while Mumtaz claimed two wickets.

Earlier, after being asked to bat first, Pakistan Shaheens posted a massive total of 314 runs after losing six wickets, thanks to a brilliant 139-run opening stand between Imran Butt and Haseebullah Khan.

The right-hand batter Imran scored 64 runs from 65 deliveries, including seven fours and one six. Haseebullah also played a brilliant innings as he scored 62 runs from 77 deliveries, including nine boundaries.

Zimbabwe Select made their first breakthrough in the 24th over as they got the important wicket of Imran Butt (64) thanks to a brilliant run out by Clive Madande. Soon after his dismissal, Haseebullah (62) was dismissed by Sikandar Raza in the same over.

Omair Bin Yousuf, who scored 153 runs from 126 deliveries in the previous match, played an outstanding knock once again, and remained unbeaten after scoring 89 runs from 87 deliveries, including seven fours and one six. 

Despite facing challenges, Rohail Nazir (16), Kamran Ghulam (12), skipper Hussain Talat (7), and Qasim Akram (13) were unable to make notable contributions during the crucial phase of the game.

Nonetheless, all-rounder Aamer Jamal provided valuable support to Omair Yusuf towards the end, as he remained unbeaten with a score of 24 from 18 balls, including two fours and one six.

Brandon Mavuta took two wickets after conceding 39 runs in his spell, while Sikandar Raza and Luke Jongwe each claimed one wicket.

Leave a Reply